Menu Close

How to Erase your Personal Data From FaceApp

How to Erase your Personal Data From FaceApp

FaceApp is the recently gone viral mobile application that lets you know what your face will look like in the future, has come up against the criticisms and comments that are being made in recent days about how it deals with the personal data provided by users.

FaceApp recognizes that it has to improve the way in which users request the deletion of personal information.

Certainly their Terms of Use are somewhat vague and indicated the possibility of transferring the information (the uploaded photographs) to companies of the same developer group or to “affiliated” firms with any objective without the user having to receive any consideration for it, but the application has wanted to qualify some of the issues to end the controversy.

This is stated in an official statement FaceApp, which states that the photographs used by users are stored in the cloud “for reasons of performance and traffic.” The company emphasizes that only the photograph selected by the user is uploaded to the cloud and not all those that are on the spool of your mobile device, as has been suggested in some media these days.

In addition, FaceApp establishes that “the majority of images” is deleted from their servers in less than 48 hours after having uploaded it to the cloud to process the user’s photograph. According to the company, it does so for reasons of space, although it does not clarify the concept of “the majority” nor which images are deleted and which are not.

As we pointed out when echoing the possible “dangers” of FaceApp, it is not necessary to log in to use the filters of the application, so users do not have to provide personal data, “something that 99% of users do “, establishes. FaceApp confirms this in its statement and also states that “user data is not transferred to servers in Russia”, although it does confirm that it is in this country where your R & D team is located.

How to delete personal information from FaceApp

In any case, for that 1% of users who do provide personal data, the company has announced that it has a way to delete the information from the servers. However, this is not very practical.

Instead of being able to request the reset of the information by pressing a button, as it happens in other platforms, in FaceApp it is necessary to send a message. To send the request, it is necessary to go to the «Configuration» section and there, in the «Support» area, select «Report an error». There you can send a message, and FaceApp says that you must indicate “Privacy” for the data to be deleted.

The user does not receive any confirmation that their data is deleted. The process is very poor and the application itself recognizes it in its statement. “We are working on the best user interface for that.”

President Trump has call on Feds to investigate the Russian based mobile App-FaceApp.